by: Fatima P. Fajardo

Schools Division of Pasay City makes another mark as the electronic book (e-Book) version of the Compendium of Schools’ Best Practices was launched together with the publication of the coffee-table book volume 2. Jose Rizal Elementary School Conference Hall was once again brought to life as special awards were also handed out to schools and Public Schools District Supervisors on March 25.

The Compendium of Schools’ Best Practices e-Book contains the articles of the volumes 1 and 2 authored by teachers and students of the winning schools and features functions that offer ease in accessibility for those who are visually impaired and with larger than life experience of seeing the implementation of the awarded projects with the embedded videos prepared by each school’s project team.

The e-Book was discussed into details by Mr. Mark Donald P. Bagsic of Apelo Cruz Elementary School who, together with Mrs. Angelie C. Mariano of Jose Rizal Elementary School, were the tech-savvy brains behind the conversion of the coffee-table book into the electronic version. Mr. Bagsic has also underscored that the e-book can be accessed both online and off-line.

Aside from the launching of the e-book and the publication of the volume 2, another highlight of the event is the giving of special awards to schools and PSDS for the Culmination of the Schools’ Best Practices for Three School Years.

The following projects were awarded Hall of Famers for bagging the Best Practice for three consecutive school years: Project Gulayan, Atbp. para sa Malulusog at Energetic na Mag-aaral ng JRES (Project GAME sa JRES) of Jose Rizal Elementary School, Project Rekindling Blind Learners’ Interest in Reading with the Heart (Project ReBIRTH) of Philippine National School for the Blind) and Project Zero Drop-out (Project ZeDRO) of Cuneta Elementary School. The said projects were already recommended as Continuous Improvement Project.

Meanwhile, three schools were also awarded Special Citation for having projects in access, quality, and governance that made it to the roster of schools’ best practices in a school year. These include Timoteo Paez Elementary School (SY 2019-2020), Philippine National School for the Blind (SY 2020-2021), and Cuneta Elementary School (SY 2020-2021).

Exemplary Cluster Monitoring, Evaluation and Adjustment (CMEA) Implementers was also awarded to four Public Schools District Supervisors (PSDS) with all schools under their cluster that made it to the Roster of Schools’ Best Practices. The awardee for School Year 2019-2020 was Dr. Ma. Jessica S. Magayanes of Cluster 5. Moreover, Dr. Rosalie R. Condes (Cluster 2), Ms. Lovelynn Jane S. Bacera (Cluster 3), and Dr. Normina B. Hadji-Yunnos (Cluster 7) were the awardees for SY 2020-2021.

As the Division/Cluster/School Monitoring, Evaluation and Adjustment (D/C/SMEA) has completed the cycle for three school years, SDO leaders expressed their appreciation to all the school heads and teachers who served and continuously serve as the catalysts of innovation, towards the delivery of quality educational services in spite and despite the pandemic. With the implementation of these innovative schools’ best practices, the Schools Division Superintendent has stretched that this has indeed embodied the SDO’s battlecry… Kapit-kamay, Tuloy ang Edukasyon sa Pasay.