The Young Writers of the Division of Pasay emerged victorious in the concluded 2017 Regional Schools Press Conference Closing and Awarding Ceremony held on October 7, 2017 at San Francisco High School, Quezon City.

The Division of Pasay ranked 5th place in the overall ranking of 2017 Regional Schools Press Conference (RSPC) Elementary Level. Out of the 16 Divisions who competed in the prestigious contest, the Young Writers bag awards in individual and group categories which marked their huge success in the said event. The collaborative efforts of the pool School Paper Advisers (SPA’s), the conduct of training, the full support of Dr. Evangeline P. Ladines, Schools Division Superintendent and Local Government have gone far towards another milestone.

The Young Writers in the Elementary Level who competed with 160 contestants in the individual categories deliberately put a marked in the competition by winning in the following categories in English and Filipino: third place Copy Reading and Headline Writing, Stefhanie Kaye Barca of Kalayaan Elementary School, 4th place Copy Reading and Headline Writing, Rex Cyner A. Gloria Jr. of Villamor Air Base Elementary School. 4th place Editorial Writing, Adrian D. Dizon of Saint Mary’s Academy, 9th place Editorial Cartooning Mariel A. Ponderas of A. Bonifacio Elementary School, 4th place Cartooning Ronel Avila of Juan Sumulong Elementary School and the 8th placer in Cartooning is John Stephen Sampilingan of P. Zamora Elementary School. Pagsulat ng Balitang Sports 3rd place is Irish Mae Francisco of Juan Sumulong Elementary School, Pagsulat ng Balita 4th place is Jowen Darcen France S. Saloy, Pagsulat ng Balita 5th place is John Nathan B. Baterzol, Pagsulat ng Lathalain 8th place is Mikkhyla Ayanna M. Quinao, Pagwawasto at Paguulo ng Balita 7th place is Angela Bungag, Pagwawasto at Paguulo ng Balita 10th placer Sherlyn Rodriguez.

In the group category, 1st place news presenter is Zassie E. Bartolome of Rafael Palma Elementary School, 5th place news presenter is KC Lavie Cabanlig of Epifanio Elementary School, 6th Place news presenter is John Michael C. Diaceno of Rafael Palma Elementary School, 7th Place best anchor, Candice Joy Ballesteros of St. Mary’s Academy. Significantly the 3rd place Best Technical Application, 6th place best Infomercial, 4th place best infomercial, 4th place Radio Broadcasting were awarded to Cluster 1 and St. Mary’s Academy, while in Filipino 1st place Best Infomercial, 3rd place Best Technical Application won by cluster 7 and the 3rd place overall winner in Collaborative Publishing was won by cluster 3.

Meanwhile, the School Paper Journalists (SPJs) who ranked third place will represent the National Capital Region in the 2017 National Schools Press Conference to be held sometime in February at Dumaguete City.